Wednesday, January 2, 2019

Schuyler County Legislature Holds Reorganizational Meeting.

Republican Dennis Fagan, of Tyrone, was re-elected Chair of the Schuyler County Legislature at its annual reorganizational meeting held Wednesday (January 2, 2019).

The vote was 7-1 with the legislature’s sole democrat, Michael Lausell of Hector, as the one “no” vote. 

In other action, the legislature unanimously reappointed Tim O’Hearn of Watkins Glen as County Administrator for a four-year term.
Stacy Husted, of Montour Falls, remains clerk of the legislature and Steven Getman,  of Watkins Glen, continues as Schuyler County Attorney.

Prior to the voting, County Court Judge Dennis Morris administered the oath of office to re-elected legislators Carl Blowers (District V) and Phil Barnes (District VI).

The County of Schuyler is governed by an eight-person legislature, headed by its Chair.  Members serve staggered four-year terms.    The legislature, in turn, appoints various department heads to oversee the county’s day to day operations, including the county administrator, county attorney and clerk to the legislature.

The current members of the legislature are James W.D. Howell, Jr., Carl H. Blowers, David M. Reed, Michael L. Lausell, Mark F. Rondinaro, Van A. Harp, Philip C. Barnes and Dennis A. Fagan, Chairman